top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKugenKeith

Trial of the Witch: Final Summary

During the pass weeks I have been working on a platformer game. The game is about a witch trying to escape a trial by igniting 5 candles in the trial to complete it. The player must dodge fireballs that is shot by enemies and also avoid the enemies in the trial as touching them will result in the witch getting banished to the depths of hell. The trial is also cursed which causes a poisoning effect on the witch and causes the witch to lose sanity the longer she is in the trial. To stop the witch from going crazy the player can polymorph enemies into frogs and eat them to gain 20 sanity or polymorph the enemies into a rabbit and disintegrate them to please the entity that is present in the trial.

Week One

The first week is the information gathering stage and planning stage where I gather more info about the features that I will be using and the art as well that I will be using and drawing. Since most of the art is drawn by me I tried to make my work easier by planning on the object or character that I am going to draw and how to further make the art and animation much more simple such as only using 4 frames for animation or maybe less by drawing them on a piece of paper first. The features that I will be using for the game is also done in this week and some extra ideas are added to the excel sheet for future reference that I can use in the future or I can add when I have the time. The excel sheet is a priority list to keep me on track and work on the important features first. More Info on the game here.

Week Two

In the second week is where I started to draw all the assets that I need for the game such as the enemies, the witch, props, and the tiles. For this game I wanted to atmosphere to have a mysterious and dark atmosphere where anything could happen at anytime and for that I use dark colors to convey this message. All of the animation for the witch is only 2 frames but it works and convey the info that I want to convey well with the game and saves my time to draw them. In this week I also did the death animation for the witch when she gets hit by the fireball and turns into ashes. The rabbit and frog is also done. The background emphasizes on the blood moon similar to Zelda: Breath Of the Wild where whenever the blood moon appears the monsters gets stronger and is more difficult to kill. More Info on the art assets.

Here is the updated assets and more assets that I have added.

Mock Up

Real-mockup-2.gif

Week Three

Week 3 is where I coded in the features and the assets and test play them. This is also the enhancing stage where I further enhance the feel and the atmosphere of the game. Such as further improving the background by adding more depth on it and also adding the sound to further enhance the experience when playing the game. More info about what I did to enhance the atmosphere and feel of the game.

Week Four

The fourth is the testing week where I gotten some people to test play my game and get feedback to further improve the game. From the results that I have gotten from the test play I made a few changes to the shooting speed and the jump ability of the player. There were also some minor changes that I did to improve gameplay. The players seem to be engaged because of the sound effects and the background music and does not seem to notice anything weird about the two frame animation of the witch and is fine with it.

Week Five

In the fifth week I fixed some bugs and added a few new scenes to the game.

Start Screen

trial-of-the-witch-op-screen.gif

Information Screen

tutorial-2.gif

Trial Complete Screen

Win-screen.gif

The Game Can Be Downloaded here: Link to the Game

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page